A series of webinars in which James Nottingham and his colleagues talk in-depth about teaching, learning and leadership.

Wednesday, May 27

8am PST/10am CST/ 11am EST/4pm BST/5 pm CEST
Click here to register

Thursday, May 28

9am GMT / 10am BST / 11am CEST / 5pm AWST / 7pm AEST / 9pm NZST
Click here to register

The majority of Challenging Learning’s PD offer is in the form of face-to-face consultancy and remote coaching. However, with the onset of the Coronavirus pandemic, we have been placing more emphasis on our online offers, particularly the lesson ideas we’ve written to support home learning, as well as this brand-new series of #PitPodcasts

Pit Podcast Episodes


Series 1
Wednesdays at 10a CST; 11a EST; 4pm BST; 17 CEST
Repeated Live on Thursdays at 10am BST; 11 CEST; 5pm AWST; 7pm AEST; 9pm NZST

  1. Using the ASK Model to develop Attitudes, Skills and Knowledge (16 & 20 April)
  2. The power of mistakes and failure in the learning process (23 & 23 April)
  3. Improving the feedback process to ensure it extends and deepens learning (29 & 30 April)
  4. Using the SOLO taxonomy to write better Learning Intentions & Success Criteria (6 & 7 May)
  5. On a journey through the Learning Pit® (13 & 14 May)
  6. Why growth mindset is not working (yet) and what you can do about it (20 & 21 May)
  7. Developing questioning to deepen learning (27 & 28 May)
  8. Dialogue strategies to deepen learning (3 & 4 June)
  9. What is efficacy (collective and self) and why does it matter? (10 & 11 June)

26th June 2020, 8am to 2pm AEST
Webinar hosted by Corwin Australia  MORE INFORMATION
James Nottingham – Developing Resilient Learners

Series 2
Wednesdays at 10a CST; 11a EST; 4pm BST; 17 CEST
Repeated Live on Thursdays at 10am BST; 11 CEST; 5pm AWST; 7pm AEST; 9pm NZST

  1. Concepts & Conflicts – how to use the Learning Pit across the curriculum (5 & 6 Aug)
  2. Data demands judgement – how effect sizes help and how they hinder decision-making (19 & 20 Aug)
  3. Philosophy for Children and the Learning Pit – where do these two meet? (26 & 27 August)

Premium Access for all Pit Podcast Videos

Subscribers will be able to:

  • Access all Pit Podcast recordings
  • View the new recordings added each month
  • Download all the slides used during the podcasts
  • Access reading notes connecting Pit Podcasts to relevant sections of books by James Nottingham & colleagues
  • Manage accounts and access for all your users in one place
  • Choose the subscription level to give you or your school/organisation the best deal
Sign In (coming soon)

Open Access Recordings

Boosting Self Efficacy with James Nottingham

Neuroscience Meets Social and Emotional Learning

Stronger Learning for Stronger Lives

Our Vision and Values

Stronger Learning for Stronger Lives