Free webinars giving an introduction to the Challenging Learning topics of dialogue, feedback, growth mindset, the Learning Pit, collective and self-efficacy, and questioning.

Thursday, September 24

9am GMT / 10am BST / 11am CEST / 5pm AWST / 7pm AEST / 9pm NZST
Click here to register

Series One of the Pit Podcasts was broadcast between April and June 2020. Subscribers and staff involved in a Challenging Learning Process (CLP) can access the recordings by following the links below.

Series Two will begin in September 2020. Please join us if you can!

Pit Podcast Episodes


Series 1
Wednesdays at 10a CST; 11a EST; 4pm BST; 17 CEST
Repeated Live on Thursdays at 10am BST; 11 CEST; 5pm AWST; 7pm AEST; 9pm NZST

  1. Using the ASK Model to develop Attitudes, Skills and Knowledge (16 & 20 April)
  2. The power of mistakes and failure in the learning process (23 & 23 April)
  3. Improving the feedback process to ensure it extends and deepens learning (29 & 30 April)
  4. Using the SOLO taxonomy to write better Learning Intentions & Success Criteria (6 & 7 May)
  5. On a journey through the Learning Pit® (13 & 14 May)
  6. Why growth mindset is not working (yet) and what you can do about it (20 & 21 May)
  7. Developing questioning to deepen learning (27 & 28 May)
  8. Dialogue strategies to deepen learning (3 & 4 June)
  9. What is efficacy (collective and self) and why does it matter? (10 & 11 June)

Series 2
Thursdays at 10am BST; 11 CEST; 5pm AWST; 7pm AEST; 9pm NZST

  1. Concepts & Conflicts – how to use the Learning Pit across the curriculum (10 & 12 Sept)
  2. Data demands judgement – how effect sizes help and how they hinder decision-making (24 Sept)
  3. Philosophy for Children and the Learning Pit – where do these two meet? (8 Oct)

Premium Access for all Pit Podcast Videos

Subscribers will be able to:

  • Access all Pit Podcast recordings
  • View all new recordings as they are released
  • Download PDFs of all the slides used during the podcasts
  • Manage accounts and access for all your users in one place
  • Choose the subscription level to give you or your school/organisation the best deal
Subscribe Now

Open Access Recordings

Boosting Self Efficacy with James Nottingham

Neuroscience Meets Social and Emotional Learning

Stronger Learning for Stronger Lives

Our Vision and Values

Stronger Learning for Stronger Lives